The Rape of Horus or “a brief look at sexual abuse in the Black community”

flat,800x800,070,f_u1

I dedicate this blog to several ex girlfriends and a homie of mine that recently shared a very painful memory of his sexual abuse .

images

Ive long intended to write this blog but today after hearing about the recent sexual abuse allegations  hurled against Hip Hop pioneer and founder of the Zulu Nation Afrika Bambata I felt I needed to finish this thing. I remember growing up hearing about the notorious “booty buster” and how you’d better not get caught by him. Far to young to really understand sexuality I did know this was a bad thing a kid never wanted to happen to him. I remember the old man who gave out candy at his project apartment to me and my friend and how one day he wouldn’t let me in for candy anymore but he’d let my friend in. I remember the dude with the turntables and Atari that would let kids in to play but wouldn’t answer the door for me most the time refusing to let me in. Ive always asked myself why these predators avoided me and I truly believe the fact my having a strong mother and father in my life and an older brother known for beating fools down kept most predators away from me.  I say most because when I was 15 or 16 a man named Eric Dannenberg (yep I said his name) positioned himself as mentor in my life. Dannenberg would always be around. He taught me how to drive a stick shift(no pun or double meaning…. seriously). He took pictures of me and my girlfriend on our way to our Jr. prom. He gave sage advice. Dannenberg was an intellectual. He was able to read my Al Yusef translation of the Koran in Arabic and was well versed in Afro Centric ideology. He was all of the things a young Black teenager just getting into his “Blackness” would idolize in an older Black male. In spite of all his good nature and charm I always felt something was off. I think its the “creepy” alarm that goes off in all our heads but many of us muffle. Its the alarm that many with out father figures or with bad father figures ignore simply happy to have an adult show them attention. Its the alarm many parents and members of the community deny not wanting to admit that nice man,that loved family member or say that sensational singer did those horrid things to a child.

images

I think the fact the 1st man I ever idolized was my own father and that man was  a positive and consistent influence in my life gave me the …i don’t know “ability” to listen to that alarm bell enough to look into Dannenbergs past. This is one way how I know the music industry is complacent and complicit with wide-spread sexual abuse of minors. How do I know?  I didn’t realize he was trying to as they would say “groom me” until I’d dug around asking questions and discovered Dannenberg was a convicted molester. We had taken a picture together at a studio I recorded at and I went there took the picture into the parking lot and burned it. (I’m also the Bay Area Hip-Hop pioneer Hugh-EMC) The engineer asked me why was I taking the picture and burning it? I told my engineer that I’d discovered Eric Dannenberg was a convicted child molester. My engineer hunched his shoulders and said “I thought you knew” I was like wow. I latter thought to my self why would the studio engineer think I knew about this dudes past and why wouldn’t he warn me? His silence was condolence. I thank the most high no predator attempted to physically rape me but if it wasn’t for the sixth sense my parents instilled in me I’d have more psychological trauma than I do now. Never the less the fact I was preyed upon like this messed with me…. messes with me. Sexual abuse is hard to talk about for all of us but it takes on an extra dimension of feelings of emasculation for boys and men. This makes it that much tougher for us to speak about sexual abuse. Female abusers exist also but we men tend to internalize female abuse of boys or young men as a sexual conquest.

Unknown-3

Marie Black has been convicted of abusing children for the last 10 years

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/women/womens-life/11899484/Female-paedophiles-Why-women-sexually-abuse-children.html http://www.ipt-forensics.com/library/female.htm I woke up today and read the allegations of sexual abuse against Afrika Bambaataa in my #Twitter thread. My 1st reaction was “noooooo”.  As a honanry memeber of the ZuIu Nation  Im even more hurt by these aligations. Bambaataaa is an Icon and  I can hear many of my friends saying things like “the media are trying to take another Black icon down” and Im like stop the bullshyt. We have to be better critical thinkers. Yes this is a fucked up society that treats African Americans unfairly and targets us more so than most but believe me no man would lie about being sexually molested by another man. This is one reason I get angered when I hear people accuse people especially men who come forward about sexual abuse of lying. I watched Ronald Savage’s interview with the New York Daily News and in it he states he wanted to ask Bambaataa “why me”

bambaata10n-4-web

Ronald Savage tears up while retelling the events of his molestation at the hands of Afrika Bambaataa

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/national/afrika-bambaataa-sex-abuse-accuser-ronald-savage-speaks-article-1.2594599 I hope this article I’ve written helps explains the reasons to Ronald other than Bambaataa’s assumed sickness. I also hope he and others who’ve been through this trauma see this article as a form of support. I hope those reading this that have been all to quick to villify the victim and defend the abuser because of their fame or some feeling of allegenace or loyalty rethink the way the react in the future because we will hear these aligations again. Either in the media or on the neighborhood gossip line. The destruction crack cocain has wrecked upon the Black community has allowed predators to proliferate. The denial must stop in order for the healing to begin.

at least two other victims have come forward accussing Afrika Bambaataa of molesting them

 

Now we come to this blogs title.

HorusMany reading this would wonder why I named this blog “The Rape of Horus” Well it happens that the ancient Egyptian god Horus was molested by his uncle and eternal adversary the evil god Set. Not all translations include this aspect of Horus and Set’s conflict but it is within the pyramid text. Wishing to write and publish this article today I don’t have the time to dig through translations of the pyramid text to locate the verses or as the ancient writers would say “utterances” that relate to Seth’s rape of Horus so I will give a brief paraphrased retelling of this episode in the drama between Horus and Seth. 747b6ccdcbf6233b6158c3b42207424e Set having attempted to drive away or kill Horus numerous times and failing plotted to shame Horus before the gods. Set invited Horus to a party and plied the teen age Horus with much more wine and drink than Horus could handle. When Horus was drunk Set lured Horus to sleep in the same bed with him. When Horus is sleep Set attacks and molest him but it is said Horus tricked Set. It is said Horus wasn’t as drunk as Seth thought and clinched his thighs and cupped his hand catching Set’s semen. Horus hides Set’s semen and runs to his mother Isis telling her what his wicked uncle did. Isis is enraged and in disbelief (but she believes her baby unlike far to many mothers who remain in denial) but later decides to plots revenge on Set. She cuts off the hand Horus caught the semen in and takes the semen and uses it as a dressing on Set’s favorite food of Egyptian lettuce which Set eats.  Not knowing what he’d eaten Set went to the hall of the gods to shame Horus by telling them how he had his way with Horus. Upon hearing this the divine judges yell and curse at Horus (seems ancient cultures blamed the victim as well) but Thoth the scribe of the god’s called forth the semen from Horus to see if what Set said was true and instead of coming from Horus it spews forth from Set. Set is shocked and embarressed and flee’s the court of the gods in shame. (In other renditions Horus tosses Set’s semen into the river & Horus ejaculates on the Egyptian lettuce before Isis gives it to Set. When Thoth calls forth the semen from Horus it comes from the river. Thoth then calls forth Horus’s semen from Set. When Horus’s semen spews from Set he is then shamed before the gods)

picsart_02-19-10-18-46-jpg

 

  This is the famous rape of Horus Later Horus would do battle with Set and rip one of his nuts off (not that im trying to encourage violence of any sort against ones abuser but not a bad bit of pay back) As we see even a god can be sexually abused and just as Horus we all can overcome and defeat the Sets in our lives.
 p018_1_00
3 thoughts on “The Rape of Horus or “a brief look at sexual abuse in the Black community”

Leave a Reply

